Look for the “Follow” Icon in the Lower Right Corner of the Screen When You Visit My Blog; You Can Now Use This Icon To Easily Subscribe To My Blog Via E-Mail Notices

Hi Everyone!

I just noticed that WordPress.com has added a very nice feature that visitors to my blog should take a look at.

When you visit my blog via a PC or a PC Laptop or a Mac,  you will now notice a “Follow” icon in the lower right part of your screen.  If you open the icon you will now notice that you will be able to “subscribe” to my blog and receive an e-mail response containing any new post.  This is very easy and a nice offering being provided by WordPress.

I did access my blog via an iPad and DID NOT see the same “Follow” icon in the lower-right part of the screen.  I do not know why this is so,  but I thought I would mention this since tablet use is growing and you may not see what I have indicated you should expect to see.  It could be a shortfall of WordPress at this time that they do not have this built in their software at this time for tablets and mobile devices.

Previously, you could subscribe via e-mail to my blog by looking at a post, scrolling down to the bottom of the post and seeing a link associated with the “Comments” part of the blog for e-mail subscription to the blog. 

That was far too many steps and was not very intuitive to say the least!

This new process by WordPress makes this capability more easily seen on your computer screen in general and not within the contents of a blog post.

You can still subscribe to my blog using the RSS process.  You do not receive e-mail notices via this method but you will see notices of my blog posts within your RSS Reader within your browser.

You don’t really want to miss anything that I post?  Do you?

I hope not.

So at least I can now make you aware of the existence of this new “Follow” icon you will see in the lower right corner of your screen.

Always be in the loop with what I post.  Visit me routinely or follow me via the new e-mail notices subscription process activated by WordPress in the lower right part of your screen identified as “Follow” or the RSS subscription process  that exists within my blog.

Tony Kierna
Genealogy Coordinator
Schaumburg Township District Library

Leave a Reply

