Embedded RootsTech 2013 Video Interview Conducted By DearMYRTLE With David Pogue, Tech Guru From The New York Times

Hi Everyone!

tv-interviewI wanted to see how I can enhance some of my blog posts with more than just text.

This is a free blog from WordPress.  As such, I have to use whatever “tools” WordPress provides to “free” blogs.  One of the things I noticed they have as a capability is to “embed” videos from YouTube.  This means that a video will play directly within the blog post.  There will be no other visible link to click on and leave the blog post to see something else.

I thought I would give “embedding” a try with a small video from the just recently concluded RootsTech 2013 Conference.

DearMYRTLE, a renowned genealogist in her own right, was conducting some video interviews at the recent RootsTech 2013.  She has these small video interviews posted on her YouTube channel.  They were conducted with a myriad of attendees to the conference.

I did notice an interview she had with David Pogue, a well-known “tech” guru who writes for the New York Times.  David was also a keynote speaker at the conference and the “buzz” is that his keynote speech “hit it out of the park”.

Here is DearMYRTLE with David Pogue:

I hope you enjoyed seeing the video interview without having to leave my blog post.  More importantly, leave a comment for me regarding my embedding the video directly into the blog post!  I always want to learn new ways within WordPress and this is my most recent effort.

I would like to do more video “embeds” in the future.  I hope you enjoy the continuity of staying with the blog post.

Thanks for letting me experiment!

Tony Kierna
Genealogy Coordinator
Schaumburg Township District Library

One response to “Embedded RootsTech 2013 Video Interview Conducted By DearMYRTLE With David Pogue, Tech Guru From The New York Times

  1. Tony, the video worked great, and a wandered off to a few others too. Thanks! Jacquie

Leave a Reply

