I Have Added A “Calendar Of Local Genealogy Events” Page To The Top Of The Blog Using Google Calendar; It Will Show Events For Other Local Genealogy Groups And Societies All In One Calendar Via This Blog

Hi Everyone!

Google LogoFor readers of this blog you are well aware that I create blog posts providing information on the genealogy programs being offered by other groups and societies.

I also include a “Calendar of Events” in each monthly edition of the genealogy newsletter I create and post in the right sidebar of this blog each month.  Unfortunately, I am not sure how frequently anyone looks at that material for the calendar of local genealogy events.  I know the material is helpful, but I think I can present this calendar information in a little better way and give readers a better “birds eye” view of what local genealogy groups are offering for programs in a real “calendar” view.

Using this WordPress blog I discovered that I can actually bring in a Google Calendar.  In the Google Calendar I can add as many of the events that I become familiar with from the various local genealogy groups and societies.  Right now, I am looking to incorporate into the calendar genealogy events for the following organizations:

  • Schaumburg Township District Library
  • Computer Assisted Genealogy Group of Northern Illinois (CAGGNI)
  • Northwest Suburban Council of Genealogists (NWSCG)
  • Indian Trails Public Library in Wheeling, IL.
  • Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  • Casa Italia Chicago Genealogy
  • Elgin Genealogical Society

My intent is not to be a universal clearing house for any genealogy program from any group.  I am targeting events to be included as somewhat local to our own Schaumburg area.  The list above is my starting point.

But I am open to consider how this will all happen.

I am not sure how this will evolve over time and what more may be included, but I wanted to give this Google Calendar a try.

To check out this new calendar, just look at the top of the blog homepage where all of the other “special” points of interest can be found such as “Favorite Links”, “Poll Archive” and “Contact Me”.  The “Calendar of Local Genealogy Events” will be added just before the existing “Contact Me” page at the top of the blog.

One quick suggestion.  Y0u can look at the calendar in a multitude of ways such as a monthly view, by week, by day or in an agenda view.  I actually like looking at it using the “agenda” view because it is presented in “list” form and you can read more fully the name of the group offering the program.  I noticed that if you view the calendar on a monthly basis, the box for the date is too small and you can not easily know the name of the group offering the program without opening the event itself because much of the group name is truncated.

You can then click on the event to open up the full description information for the program.

As with so much with Google, when you open the event to fully read the description, you will also see a link for a Google map for the location.

You do not have to have a Google account in order to view the calendar.  It is not intended to be an interactive calendar where anyone can add items.  But that is why I am going to trial this to see how it works.

If you do use a personal Google account yourself, you can add the events in my blog calendar to your own Google calendar if you so choose.

Like anything else with this blog, I am willing to give it a try.  If it does not work in a meaningful way then it will be “Goodbye!”

Take a look at it and see what you think.

Tony Kierna
Genealogy Coordinator
Schaumburg Township District Library

2 responses to “I Have Added A “Calendar Of Local Genealogy Events” Page To The Top Of The Blog Using Google Calendar; It Will Show Events For Other Local Genealogy Groups And Societies All In One Calendar Via This Blog

  1. Tony- Love the calendar! I tend to forget all of the groups, dates and times, this makes it easy! I use the monthly view – the description, and info of the classes makes it effortless. Thank you! Shari

    • Hi Shari,

      Thanks for your positive comments!

      It did amaze me how many programs there are to pick and choose from from the groups I noted in my post. It is great for me to be able to browse through all of the programs that go through 2014.

      Don’t forget to check back to the website for any of the groups for which I have noted programs in case they have made any changes that I was unaware of.

      Thanks again Shari for the comment!

      Enjoy the calendar!

      Tony Kierna
      Genealogy Coordinator
      Schaumburg Township District Library

Leave a Reply

