Poll On The Right Sidebar Has Been Closed For “Has Your Genealogy Research Uncovered Any “Famous” Or “Infamous” Ancestors?”; Results Indicated

Hi Everyone!

It is amazing that about  2 months has passed on the life of the poll I had on the right sidebar of the blog since August 26, 2014.  It is time to move on!  I think a new poll question is in order!

The poll had asked the question “Has Your Genealogy Research Uncovered Any “Famous” Or “Infamous” Ancestors?”

The results of the poll showed the following from the 38 total respondents that took the brief time to provide their “Yes” or “No” response to the question.  The numbers show that 19 responses (50%) noted they have discovered “famous” or “infamous” ancestors  while 19 responses (50%) indicated they have not discovered any “famous” or “infamous” ancestors in their research.

A dead heat!

I am actually surprised at the high number of “Yes” responses indicating individuals discovered “famous” or “infamous” ancestors in their research.  Maybe I am biased because I do not think I have made any discoveries of these kind of ancestors, other than a few that had a run-in with the law!  No Presidents or Generals or Kings for me! (of course maybe my deep Polish ancestry might yet still connect to a King or two just waiting for my discovery!!).

I guess what is my definition of “famous” or “infamous” might not be your definition of the same term as you relate it to your ancestral discoveries.  Maybe the uncertainty of such a clear-cut interpretation might have contributed to the 50/50 response that I saw.

Glad I left this poll so not exact and left it to your imagination to determine the “famousness” or “infamousness” of your own ancestors.

I am always looking for a larger response than even that which I just saw!  So come on down ——  affix your opinion as a “Yes” or “No” when so asked to the varied polls on different topics in the world of genealogy and family history research.  Your answers count.

I plan on putting up a new poll rapidly.  Come back for that one to see the new question being asked.

A big thank you to all of those that took the time to respond to this just recently closed poll.  Take a look at the results of that poll to satisfy your own curiosity.

Don’t forget to visit my Poll Archives as part of this blog.  Look for the link at the top of the homepage of the blog where it simply says “Poll Archives”.  In here you will find the statistical results of the 18 previously active polls in addition to the poll that is generally “active”.  If you were not aware of this Archive, you may want to visit to see what all the previous polls were about.

Here is a direct link to the Poll Archives at my blog:

Poll Archives At Tony’s Genealogy Blog At The Schaumburg Township District Library (STDL)

Get ready for another poll ……………………..SOON!

Tony Kierna
Genealogy Coordinator
Schaumburg Township District Library

2 responses to “Poll On The Right Sidebar Has Been Closed For “Has Your Genealogy Research Uncovered Any “Famous” Or “Infamous” Ancestors?”; Results Indicated

  1. My famous family members are the author James Thurber and the baseball player Warren Spahn. My husband is more thrilled about the latter. Not a king or president, but I think well known to most people.

    • Hi Jacquie,

      I am envious of your “famous” ancestors. Though not connected to Warren Spahn as you are, I do vividly remember Warren Spahn pitching in the 1957 and the 1958 World Series against the New York Yankees. I was a big baseball fan then at only 8 years old and remember starting a scrapbook cutting out pictures of the Braves baseball team members at the time from the Chicago Tribune and Chicago Sun-Times. I will always remember “Lefty” Warren Spahn and “Fidgety” Lou Burdette of the Braves from that era when I was a kid. Congratulations on your ancestral connection to Warren Spahn!!

      Tony Kierna
      Genealogy Coordinator
      Schaumburg Township District LIbrary

Leave a Reply

