I Took The Genealogy DNA Plunge (Continued)!; Received Confirmation From Family Tree DNA (FTDNA) Of Receipt Of Swabbed Samples; Batch Process Identified; Pending Date Range for Results!

Hi Everyone,

Family Tree DNAAs you may know from a recent post I made, I have taken the plunge into the world of Genealogy DNA.  I submitted my swabbed samples to Family Tree DNA (FTDNA at www.familytreedna.com) for processing in their Family Finder product.

I did receive an email confirmation from FTDNA that they have in fact received my swabbed samples.  I will say, it sure does look like FTDNA is doing a good job of keeping me informed at each step of the DNA process as to what is happening.

As of the writing of this post, I have not received any further information from FTDNA about completion of the testing of my swabbed samples.  I know it has only been about 2 days, but this is what happens as you await results.  You can normally expect an interval of 3-4 weeks to receive your results back after they have received your swabbed material.  I am getting more excited as each step reaches conclusion until I finally receive some results for me to analyze and then say “Now What??”.

When I log into Family Tree DNA with the Kit Number and Password they provided, I can now follow the events that are occurring related to processing my DNA.  Each process is identified within Family Tree DNA along with a date for the process when it occurred.  Once they received and confirmed my swabbed material FTDNA they assigned it a batch number when initial processing took place as well as a date.  They are now showing that processing of my DNA has a pending date for completion with expected results between July 6, 2016 and July 20, 2016.

Family Tree DNA is sure keeping me appraised of what is happening, when completions occurred and pending dates for future completions!  Can’t really ask for anything more.

My anticipation level is rapidly rising awaiting my DNA results targeted to be completed in the first couple of weeks of July 2016 (Hopefully earlier rather than later … I am normally a very patient person, but it is so true that you want to see the results fast once they have the material!).

I will let all of you know what piece of information I receive next from FTDNA.

I just keep telling myself, “Be patient”!

Tony Kierna
Genealogy Coordinator
Schaumburg Township District Library

2 responses to “I Took The Genealogy DNA Plunge (Continued)!; Received Confirmation From Family Tree DNA (FTDNA) Of Receipt Of Swabbed Samples; Batch Process Identified; Pending Date Range for Results!

  1. Tony, you mention July dates in your Aug1st post. Did you mean August dates?

    • Hi Fred,

      I am creating the posts now and publishing them about activities that just took place about 3 weeks ago in July 2016. So I am going with the dates when the events took place even though the posts will be published more than likely through August 2016. Does that help clarify?

      Tony

Leave a Reply

